Kerry Clare in Conversation with Marissa Stapley

Join us at Wooden Sticks Golf Club, for a delightful event with two great friends – as author Marissa Stapley interviews Kerry Clare about her latest novel.

Your $55 ticket includes dessert and coffee and a signed copy of Asking for a Friend.

KERRY CLARE is an author, editor and book reviewer. Her first novel, Mitzi Bytes, was called “entertaining, engaging and timely” by the Toronto Star, who also noted that it “heralds the arrival of a fantastic, fun new novelist on the Canadian scene.” She is the editor of The M Word: Conversations About Motherhood, which was published in 2014 to rave reviews, and in 2018 of selected stories for The Journey Prize Stories 30 with Sharon Bala and Zoey Leigh Peterson. A National Magazine Award-nominated essayist, Kerry is also editor of the Canadian books website 49thShelf.com, and writes about books and reading at her popular blog, Pickle Me This. She lives in Toronto with her family.

For readers of J. Courtney Sullivan and Emma Straub, and for fans of Firefly Lane, comes a poignant and astute novel about life, love, and the ever-evolving nature of female friendship by the author of Waiting for a Star to Fall.

Spanning two decades, Asking for a Friend explores the tempestuous journey of female friendship, asking whether its fundamentals–history, familiarity, loyalty–are enough to make the relationship everlasting.

“This novel is like the best kind of friend: honest, wise, complicated, endearing, smart—and Kerry Clare as a writer is all these things, too. What a poignant, observant tribute—and elegy—to the life sustaining force that is friendship between women. Clare sees it so clearly: the way friendship can be a love story, complete with heartbreak and redemption. I plan to share this book with my dearest friends, all the while marvelling at how lucky I am to have them, and how much better a place the world is with Clare’s books in it.” —Marissa Stapley, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky.